Instagram has launched a new update that lets users restore deleted content. The popular social media platform has introduced a new feature called Recently Deleted on its iOS and Android app. This feature enables users to access and recover their deleted photos, videos, IGTV videos, reels, and stories within 30 days of deletion.
What is “Recently Deleted” Feature?
Instagram has unveiled a new feature called Recently Deleted that helps users restore their deleted content. The new feature, available on both iOS and Android app, stores the deleted posts for 30 days within the platform.
Users can access and recover their deleted photos, videos, IGTV videos, reels, and stories using the Recently Deleted feature. This feature also helps users manage their content better and protect their account from hackers. After 30 days, Instagram will permanently delete the posts. You can read more about this feature on this blog.
New Protection Features on Instagram
Instagram has also introduced new protections to prevent hackers from deleting users’ content. The social media giant said in its blog post that “We know hackers sometimes gain access to an account and try to delete content, and until now there was no way of getting those photos and videos back.”
The new Recently Deleted feature allows users to recover their deleted content within 30 days of deletion. The post also confirms,” From today onwards, The users will be asked to first verify their identity, if they are the soulful account holders while permanently deleting or restoring content using this feature.” Also Read: Oppo to demonstrate a phone with an upward-facing camera
How “Recently Deleted” Feature works?
Instagram’s new feature supports all types of media, such as photos, videos, reels, IGTV videos, and stories. The Recently Deleted feature will move the deleted content to a separate folder within the platform. Users can access and restore their deleted content from this folder within 30 days of deletion.
However, after 30 days, the deleted content will be erased permanently. The stories that are not archived will also be deleted after 24 hours.
How to Access “Recently Deleted” Feature on Instagram?
Instagram’s new feature, Recently Deleted, allows users to delete and restore their content from the app’s settings menu. This feature supports all types of media, such as videos, photos, IGTV videos, and reels. Users can also verify their identity before permanently deleting or restoring their content from the Recently Deleted folder.
To access the folder,
- Go to “Settings” inside the app
- Tap on “Account”
- Click on “Recently Deleted” Option
What is Recently Deleted Feature?
To use the Recently Deleted feature, users need to update their Instagram app from the Google Play Store. The latest version allows users to restore or delete their content permanently from the deleted folder.
When users restore a post, it will show up on their Instagram profile again. But if they delete a post, it will go back to the archive. The latest version is rolling out gradually to all users. So only some users can access this new feature right now.
Meanwhile, Instagram is testing a new feature that stops users from sharing their feed posts to stories. Users in some countries have received a notification that says, “Testing a change to sharing to Stories”. You can find more details about this feature in the tweet below.
Many users share their feed posts to stories on Instagram. This feature is currently in beta testing for some users. There is no official announcement that it will be available for everyone. Also Read: Official Launch date of Redmi TV India leaked